48 Hours In…

25 Aug

Well, we’re now 48 hours into cloth diapering and I couldn’t be happier. Granted, the dealing with poop has almost triggered the gag reflex a few times (the diaper today smelled SO BAD), but at least it’s all been easily cleaned up. I’ve got the first load of dirty diapers in the wash, so hopefully it will all wash out and we’ll be good.

I ended up having way more than I need for a 2 year old, so we might not have to buy too much for the new baby. I did find that I now LOVE flats. I like the idea of just having the diapers with the pads you change out, but by putting a flat on her (folded to catch poop) when I know she’s going to poop (yes, I usually know which diaper will be a poopy one), I make it so much easier to clean up and I don’t stain the pads. I’d rather replace flats (that I can get at Target for cheap), instead of the pads for my Flip diapers.

I was able to purchase a huge bag of stuff from a lady on craigslist which included about 8 covers (mostly Thirsties), almost 24 prefolds, a couple snappies, and a wet bag for $60. Granted, not everything is in great condition, but I can always replace as we go and I’m sure they still have lots of life in them. I still really like the Flip and Thirsties systems…just so easy to use. I’m sure an AIO would be fantastic, but not knowing better, I like the system I have going.

So all in all, I’ve spent a total of $270 ($60 on the Flip; $120 at Amazon for Thirsties, trash can, and reusable diaper pail liner; $60 off of craigslist; $30 at Target) to get us going. And like I said, we really don’t have much to buy for baby #2. I probably will try to get about 6 newborn/small diaper covers, but we’ve got enough prefolds and flats. Of course, I can see buying 1 or 2 more packs of flats….so we’ll say I may spend about $100 more. So $370 on two/three kids for diapers/training pants.

I love that I can use Melaleuca products since they are all natural. I’m really hoping that they work out completely and I don’t have to purchase extra detergent. I did have to buy (which was added into the Target amount) a different  diaper rash medicine. I ended up just getting California Baby spray stuff that also helps you clean after diaper changes. I’m not comfortable getting an ointment, so we might end up having to put the babies into disposables when they have a rash…don’t really want to risk getting something on the diapers that won’t allow them to soak up fluids anymore.

After changing a couple of poopy diapers, I’ve also decided to just do cloth wipes as well. It just makes sense, you know? I can just throw the wipe in with the diaper to get washed instead of having just two little things to throw away. And it’s not like cloth wipes are anything special…you can pretty much just use a baby wash cloth with water (or the CB spray I purchase). We don’t wipe Paige after every diaper change (it actually helps keep the diaper rashes at bay), so it’s not like I’m adding tons of laundry.

Okay…enough on diapering. Can you tell this is the focus of my every day life right now? Well, when I’m not concentrating on not puking. The meds work, but I can’t just pop a pill, especially if I’m out and about. They kind of take me out of commission for 20 minutes, so I don’t take them as often as I probably should. It is nice to be able to get out and about every now and then…but I can’t be in a store for more than 30 minutes. Apparently, it’s a trigger for me and I start feeling just absolutely horrible. I have thrown up on the meds, so they aren’t a perfect remedy.

And speaking of nausea, it’s time for me to end this because it’s been a bad evening for it and staring at the computer screen doesn’t exactly help.

~Kelley~

One Response to “48 Hours In…”

  1. Valerie August 26, 2010 at 1:26 am #

    You can also make a wipie solution out of Melaleuca products. I make my own wipies out of paper towels but I’m sure you could use the same solution for cloth wipies. I’ve also heard that diaper rashes can be decreased in children with cloth diapers because they don’t sit in the wetness since it’s easier to see that cloth diapers are wet. I don’t have much experience in that though so that’s just what I heard.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

