Wastefulness

5 May

I feel like so much time is wasted every day. I mean seriously…how long must I Twitter? Do I really need to blog? Then I realize how it helps me keep my sanity. Instead of hearing Paige scream for an hour (yes, she does have her moments), I can twitter about the day or lose myself in reading another person’s thoughts. I can snuggle with my baby, while checking all of my web-sites…just as long as I let her play a little SmashBaby.

What brings up wasted time is the pool. We put it up the day before the March for Babies and it was ready to swim in on Sunday (though a little too chilly to get in). A couple days ago, I noticed that the water seemed a little low. Then I checked 2 days ago and the level was below the filter (thankfully, we never turned the filter on). Today…it’s now half-way empty (or as the optimist would say, half-way full). It was a waste of time and a waste of water to put the stupid thing up. $300 last year (not including chemicals!) and it lasted one summer. ONE SUMMER.

NOT.HAPPY.

I don’t know what we’re going to do. We don’t know where the source of the leak is, it almost has to be on the bottom, which makes it virtually impossible to patch. I’m about to put it up on Craigslist as a freebie (as long as they take it down)…though I could try to sell the filter, ladder, and chemicals. We’ll see, I need to discuss things with Dave.

Just kills me because had I known, we could’ve gotten 2 years of Kings Island passes for what we put into the pool. Granted, as a very pregnant woman, it probably would’ve have been the best thing in the world for me to be walking (waddling?) around Kings Island in July. I think that due to this situation, I’m going to push Dave to get the passes for this year(as long as we get them by the end of the month so we get the free parking). It would give me a reason to walk and something fun to do during the day with Paige. $100 really is a reasonable price.

But it still doesn’t make me feel better. I will be happy that I don’t have to worry about the upkeep of the pool and I know that it was going to be virtually impossible to enjoy it while Dave is at work (Try getting an infant up a pool ladder by yourself). Kings Island is right by the new house, so I can even drop in every time we head up that way :-).

Spending (wasting?) another $200 just doesn’t seem right though. Not after I spent $150 on a car seat and $250 on groceries (which will get us through most of the month). Not when so many others can’t even afford food (at least what we spend on it). But I guess it’s people like us who can afford that will start getting the economy to turn around.

Maybe if the government would lower the interest on student loans, we’d all be able to afford more. Talk about a waste. Don’t even being to argue with me that my education was worth every penny, because I have yet to experience a situation where it has proven that theory.

So what do you waste? What do you want to improve on?

And more importantly, who wants a pool?

~K~

Leave a Reply

