BAMI

24 Aug

My apologies for disappearing. After my last post, I decided that I needed to step away from the internet and figure some things out in my life. I’m determined to not make this a blog full of rants and raves.

So today, I’m going to talk about the BAMI girls.

BAMI or Bitchy AM I started as an anti-sorority in the fall of 2002 with three members: me, Lisa, and Kristin. We added 2 more members, but really, it was just the three of us.

We have symbols, bylaws, initiations…we eve have a website (which hasn’t been updated in 5 years!).

We’ve been through so much together in the 7 years since the start of BAMI, it’s quite unreal. Seriously…here’s a partial list:

abusive relationships, 2 weddings, 1 baby, grad-school, new jobs, several moves, a brain tumor, an attempted suicide by an honorary BAMI (aka a BAMI husband), depression, elation, love, hate, fights…this list goes on.

It’s almost like a marraige, we’ve been through good and bad, sickness and health, and I know we’ll always be there for each other.

I miss them when I don’t get to see them, I trust them with my deepest, darkest secrets.

They are Paige’s aunts, my sisters.

Everyone needs a BAMI girl of their own.

Leave a Reply

