Yummy yummy bread

22 Jan

I’ve been a bread-making machine. Since I couldn’t find my beater, I decided to try it by hand. After all, I had always heard that bread wasn’t difficult to make. And you know what? It was so incredibly easy! I’ve tried 2 different recipes. Of course, Dave liked the first one and I liked the 2nd one, but you’ll have that. At least they both turned out very well. Here’s the recipe I like:

1 1/2 Teaspoons of Dry Yeast
1 Cup of Warm Water
1 Teaspoon of Salt
1 Tablespoon of Sugar
1 Tablespoon of Dry Skim Milk
1 Tablespoon of Butter (use real butter!)
2+ Cups of Flour

First, pour the water in a large bowl. Add the yeast and 1 tsp of the sugar. Mix it so that there aren’t any lumps in the yeast and then let sit for 10 minutes. The Yeast should be kind of bubbly/foamy (like the head on a beer) after 10 minutes.

Add in the rest of the ingredients (Minus the Flour!!). Put about a cup of flour in and start mixing with a spoon. Keep adding a little flour at a time until the dough starts to pull off the sides of the bowl. (The rest you can do in a bowl, but I put on my x-large cutting board. Just easier that way!) Start kneading the dough, adding flour as you go. You know you’re done adding flour/done kneading when you poke the dough and it bounces back. Everything I’ve read says to knead for 10 minutes, but I found it took about 20 minutes or so for me to get it to the right texture. Hey, it’s a good arm work out! Rub down another bowl (or use the same if you’re short on bowls, just clean it out really well) with butter (the spray stuff makes it taste funny) and put the dough in there. Cover and place somewhere warm/not drafty (I put it in my microwave…works great!) for an hour. This can be stretched longer if you need to, but I wouldn’t suggest going over 2 hours.

By the time an hour has passed, the dough should’ve doubled. Maybe it’s gotten bigger than twice the size or maybe it didn’t quite double, but as long as it didn’t stay the same, you should be fine. Punch it 2 or 3 times to pop the bubbles.

Flop it on a flat surface, smush it down to a rectangle, then roll it into a log (whatever size your pan is). Now, since I don’t have a bread/loaf pan, I just used a cookie sheet and it worked great. Smear the cookie sheet with butter so the bread doesn’t stick, recover, and let it sit for another hour. During the time, pre-heat the oven to 400 degrees.

Melt some butter and baste the bread. Put in the oven and bake for 30 minutes. Once you take it out, re-baste it with the butter to keep the crust from getting super hard.

Cool and then eat.

So easy. Time consuming in the fact that it probably takes 3 hours from start to finish, but you’re not really doing much during those three hours.

One Response to “Yummy yummy bread”

  1. ValeReed January 22, 2010 at 5:43 pm #

    Yuuuummmy!

Leave a Reply

