Weight Loss

10 Feb

Weight loss.

Yeah, it’s always been that one thing that’s hung over my head.

See, I’ve never been small. My lowest weight was about 175, but at least then I felt good about myself. I partially blame it on genetics, bad food choices, and bad medicine choices. When I was little, I was put on a steroid cream for my vitiligo during the majority of my developmental years. I went from being a tiny little girl (think super skinny) to ballooning up to a size 16 as an 8th grader. It just went downhill from then.

High school I was able to stay about the same weight and while I did gain the “freshman 20” I lost it as well. The kicker was when I went on birth control. I really don’t care what anyone says, but when I went on the depo-provera shot my sophomore year, all hell broke loose. Within 18 months (where I didn’t change my activity level at all), I went from happy and healthy, to depressed and over 100 pounds heavier. Add to the fact that it almost ruined my liver (thank GOD it was found out in time!) and I am just DONE with birth control.

Anyway….I don’t do anything about the weight. I try, but just can’t get the scale to move. Then I get pregnant with Paige and lose 20 pounds due to morning sickness. I end up gaining a total of 10 pounds for the pregnancy and lose 30 immediately following giving birth. (Don’t hate, it all came back, including 10 more friends)

I FINALLY am sick of it. Kristin convinced me to join her gym and I’m loving it. Yes, I’m sore and yes, there are times when I just don’t want to go, but I’m tired of being stuck where I am.

I’ve given up soda completely and allow myself to only have 2 glasses of juice a day (V8 to get my veggies). I work out 3 to 5 times a week for about 1.5 hours.

I was able to download an App on my iPhone that allows me to track what I eat, much like Weight Watchers. I’ve been able to eat whatever I want and have actually been over 4000 calories below my budget (I set it so I would lose 1/2 pound a week since we’re trying to get pregnant) for the past 3 weeks.

I know you’re only supposed to weigh yourself once a week to get a true representation of your weight loss, but I weighed myself on Monday (the day I got the scale) and then weighed myself today and I’m down 3 pounds already. Water weight? Most likely. But any weight at this point is great to get rid of. I honestly think I’ve lost about 10 pounds so far, but when I was going by the scales at the gym, it’s hard to tell. They are just downright awful.

I set some goals for myself:

  1. Total weight loss goal: 130 from where I am now. Hopefully, this will be achieved by Jan. 1st, 2013. I’d like for it be be prior to that, but I don’t want to make it unattainable. Especially since I’m planning at least one pregnancy in there.
  2. Goal for my birthday: 30 pounds. It’s a little much, but considering this is the initial jump-off point, I think it’s possible. If I get pregnant before that, then we’ll just have to put that on hold.
  3. Work out at least 3 times a week.
  4. Be able to shop in the “normal” sizes. I am so not a fan of plus-sized fashions!
  5. Work out while I’m pregnant and jump back in as soon as it’s medically safe. I don’t want to back-track too far and have to start from scratch.

And if I keep the goals – here are my rewards:

  1. New clothes! I’ll ditch my entire wardrobe and buy new if I hit my final goal.
  2. 1 outfit that makes me look amazing when I hit 30 pounds (I don’t want to buy a bunch of new clothes while I’m in transition)
  3. Kristin and I agreed that if we work out at least 3 times a week from now until the end of April, we’ll get massages. I’m sure we’ll set another goal once we hit this one. 🙂

So we’ll see what happens. I’m committed to making a lifestyle change and I hope I can keep the good work going. I can already feel myself getting stronger and can tell when I don’t eat right.

Anyway…this is why I haven’t been around too much. I’m trying to get things going with the gym, but am usually pretty tired when Paige naps since my body isn’t quite used to the extra work. And since that’s usually when I write, I’d rather sleep.

And since my tummy is growling, I need to go eat. I’m not going to starve myself skinny, so time to eat a meal and get some work done on the house.

🙂

Leave a Reply

