A year past…

8 Apr

Yesterday marked a year.

A year since what?

A year since Maddie passed away unexpectedly.

A year in which her family has had to grieve, while expecting her little sister.

A year where my baby has grown from a tiny little bundle to a toddler with much more energy than I ever imagined.

I didn’t write yesterday because I didn’t have the words. I still don’t, but I’ll try.

I should also mention that it’s closing in on a year for Thalon’s family as well. So much unhappiness and death in such a short time. Thalon’s family will mark it with both a date on the calendar and a holiday. I couldn’t imagine.

Spring time is supposed to be a time of beginnings, of hope, of joy…and those around these families are dealing with endings and sadness. It just isn’t fair.

Little children shouldn’t pass away unexpectedly. Babies should be able to grow up and enjoy life. Parents should be out-living their children, not the other way around.

I spent yesterday snuggling with Paige. I am so thankful for what I have, even if I need a reminder every so often. She really completes my life and I could not EVER imagine going through what these families are going through.

But they continue in life and so should we. Enjoying the time with our families, loving, caring, hoping…it’s what Maddie and Thalon would’ve wanted.

I walk for the March of Dimes in their honor, but so that one day, we have answers. Answers to why a simple virus and incubation went so wrong for Maddie…why SIDS took Thalon’s life.

It’s crazy, isn’t it? To be reminded, yet again, that life is short (sometimes, way too short). And to be touched by those who you have never met.

*hugs*

~Kelley~

Leave a Reply

