July 21st

21 Jul

I’ve been lacking in updates lately and it’s only going to get worse. My apologies and I hope that most of you still read me when the fall finally hits.

So first off….the bank will give us our money back, but we have to dispute the charges ourselves. Which stinks, but hopefully we can do that soon and get this behind us. As of 2 days ago, the larger charges hadn’t hard hit our account and we have to wait until then. The good news is that we may not even have to worry about over-draft charges since Dave’s paycheck got put into the account the day after this happened. Thank GOD it happened when it did or we’d be out 3-4 THOUSAND dollars. It’s actually rare that our account only has $500 in it, so the fact that that was all they got away with was a blessing. And my new card showed up within 2 days, instead of the 7-10 business days I was quoted. It’s nice when things work out like that.

We have been trying to not concentrate on Mom’s cancer, mainly because it’s easier to scare yourself than it is to have hope when you’re searching Dr. Google. But here’s what I know: Papillary thyroid cancer is the most common and most treatable cancer. Usually, they can just take the thyroid and the cancer is gone. However, the best cases are when the patient is under 40 (Mom is 49), it’s only in 1 or two lesions (it’s in all 4), and the lesions are all under 1.5 cm (the smallest is 1.1×1.1x.0.8 and the largest is 2.2×2.2x?). At this point we have to just wait and see what the surgeon has to say. The best worse case scenario is that it’s only spread to the lymph nodes, which they can take out as well. The worst would be if it spread to other areas of the throat or even to the lungs. She’ll most likely have to go through Radioactive Iodine (RAI) treatments to make sure all of the cancer cells are killed. It’s much less intensive than chemo or even radiation therapy, but she’ll have to be in seclusion for over a week. From what we’ve read, she’ll have one treatment at 6-8 weeks out from the surgery and then another at 6-8 months. But that’s dependent on what the surgeon thinks is needed. Thankfully, Mom has about 16 weeks of sick leave saved up and also has disability insurance that kicks in at 2 months (and I think back-pays…) so she won’t have to use all of her sick leave. She’ll probably still end up taking a good chunk out of it, but this is why she’s saved it for so long.

Me? I’m okay…this pregnancy is making me incredibly sick and tired. Lisa passed along some ginger chews that help, but nothing has worked more than an hour or two. The good news is, I’m not actually throwing up. But the level of nausea I have almost makes me wish I would just throw up and get it over with for the day! Paige has been great, but I think she’s moving to get rid of her naps. That, I’m not happy about. Even when she gives up sleeping, we’re still going to have “quiet time” in the afternoon. I think it’s a good practice for all involved. When she gets older, that can be her reading time.

My aunt is driving down today from Wisconsin. I need to give her a call to see how they are doing and get an approximate arrival time. I’m thinking it will be around 9 tonight, but it would be nice if they could get here earlier. Not only because I know the drive is seriously long (especially with 2 toddlers and 1 adult), but also since Paige goes to be at 9:30. Won’t be the end of the world if she’s up until 10 or so, she’ll just sleep in tomorrow. Child’s schedule is already messed up, so I feel like I’m fighting a losing battle anyway :-P.

Okay…I’ve been upright too long. Maybe laying down will help with the sickness. How much longer?!

~Kelley

3 Responses to “July 21st”

  1. Valerie July 21, 2010 at 5:33 pm #

    Try Melaleuca’s Calmicid. I lived on that stuff with Vivi!

    • bevy July 22, 2010 at 3:37 pm #

      I am hypothyroid which I know is not the same thing … main thing – IF the dosage of Lovoxyl they put your Mom on is NOT sufficient. I’ll be praying for her. on About.com there’s a whole group about hypothryroidism and hyper – Mary Shoman runs it and has had thyroid probs for YEARS.
      Oh yah – keep putting your little darhling down for naps – there will be days she will sleep – maybe on a rainy or windy/snowy day … maybe just not in the middle of summer. šŸ™‚ LOL!
      Quiet time for mummy is ALWAYS a must.

  2. bevy July 22, 2010 at 3:38 pm #

    main thing ā€“ IF the dosage of Lovoxyl they put your Mom on is NOT sufficient. (sorry incomplete thot there) make sure she mentions it to the dr. until she feels right… šŸ™‚ Ya – that’s what I meant to say…

Leave a Reply

