Car Seat Soapbox

5 Aug

Well, I’m not back just yet :-P. I know everyone is just awaiting an update with bated breath, but I’ll have to do that later. Instead, this will be my “preachy” entry full of videos.

Less than a year ago, I didn’t know anything. Paige was approaching her 1st birthday and while I knew we weren’t going to flip her around the day of, I had thoughts of flipping her from rear to forward facing by 18 months. And then I did my research.

It’s bad news people. Did you know that some European countries require, REQUIRE rear facing to 4 years and 45 pounds?! This is not them being over-protective, this is them KNOWING what could happen.

***edit for some laws***

Most states are moving toward an 8 and 80 rule (8 years and 80 pounds), but that’s ONLY for a booster. And putting your child in a booster with the adult belts isn’t ideal until they are at an adult height/weight. From what I’ve read, most states follow a 1 and 20 and 4 and 40 rule for the actual car seats. Meaning children MUST rear-face for their first year and be 20 pounds and then forward face in a 5 point harness. In Ohio though, the only ruling for 4 and 40 is that they “must ride in a car seat or booster that is appropriate for the child’s age and weight.”. Meaning you could put your child in a booster at 3. I would like to see the laws change to at least 3 and 35; 6 and 65; and 10 and 100. I doubt that will ever happen here though.

And what I would REALLY like to see? A US made rear-facing seat that will hold the child up to 55 pounds. I’m not 100% sure, but I think it’s illegal to use a car seat imported from somewhere else, which is a shame. But I think car seat manufacturers are waking up and we might see some movement that way.

***end edit***

The car seat we have for Paige only goes up to 35 pounds and I’m actually considering purchasing a super-expensive Sunshine Kids seat so she can rear-face to 45 pounds. Yes, it’s that important to me.

Also, while I have your attention….CHECK THE DATES ON YOUR CAR SEATS! Most car seats expire no later than 10 years from the manufacture date. I know my cousin got used seats (which is a no-no unless you KNOW the person and know for an absolute FACT that they weren’t in any sort of crash) that she used for the twins that were 14 years old (and then they wanted me to use them for Paige!)! Plastic breaks down over time and some seats even require you to not use them after 7 or 8 years (or even less…). Yes, it sucks to have to buy new seats, but I would rather spend the money than to put my babies in harm’s way.

And you don’t have to buy top-of-the-line expensive seats, just do your research. It will pay off, I promise.

So…for what I came for….videos.

Why I rear-face:

Why I plan to keep Paige in the harness up to the limit of 65 pounds on her seat (or longer if I get a new seat)


2 Responses to “Car Seat Soapbox”

  1. skip August 6, 2010 at 5:54 pm #

    Wow – that’s alot of info. Ya know – my kids and I NEVER got into a car accident the WHOLE time they were with me …
    I think the 8 – 80# rule could put some smaller children in a booster seat till about 10. I don’t think I broke 100# until I was in 7th grade.
    It’s understandable in Europe b’c alot of families only have one child … and they’d like to preserve the child to adulthood – well that’s what I think that is about. Also, can’t they drive whatever speed they want in some areas of Europe? Well it always sounds faster in KLMs … LOL!

    • paigesmommy August 6, 2010 at 7:51 pm #

      Most people won’t get in a wreck, however, I’m not willing to risk it just because I think it *won’t* happen to me. I know someone who thought it wouldn’t happen to her and now her child is permanently disabled with screws and plates in his neck. I’ll deal with the car seat thankyouverymuch.

      The idea is that you need to be in a booster until you are 10 anyway. Yes, some people are smaller and I don’t necessarily believe that you should go to middle school/high school in a booster, but I think too many people move their child out of a protective seat too quickly.

      Also, they DO have road rules in Europe, so no, they don’t just go whatever speed they want. And to say that they want to preserve their child’s life because they only have one is ridiculous. So since I (will) have 2 kids, I shouldn’t protect them both to the best of my ability because one of them is disposable? Yeah, that doesn’t sit well with me.

Leave a Reply

